December 9, 2017

All I Want for Christmas 2017 Is... (4)


For any new followers to my blog, this holiday feature is when I share the books that have made it onto my Christmas wishlist.  I'll probably share one or two a week until Christmas. Feel free to link up your own book picks in the comments! 

Tarnished City by Vic James

36058467

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Vic James' debut novel Gilded Cage, so I am looking forward to seeing how things continue in the sequel.

What books are you hoping to find under the tree this holiday season? Share in the comments!

December 3, 2017

All I Want for Christmas 2017 Is... (3)


For any new followers to my blog, this holiday feature is when I share the books that have made it onto my Christmas wishlist.  I'll probably share one or two a week until Christmas. Feel free to link up your own book picks in the comments! 

Hunted by Meagan Spooner

24485589

I've mentioned before how Beauty and the Beast is one of my favourite fairy tales, so I am always interested when a new retelling comes out. The set-up for this one is that the Beauty is actually supposed to be hunting the Beast, which is a cool little twist. I know from reviews that this one isn't as romance-heavy as other retellings (or maybe even the original fairy tale), but it focuses on character development and the importance of family. In my 2016 End of Year Book Survey I listed Hunted as one of the books I was most anticipating for 2017 -- here's hoping I'll get my hands on it!

What books are you hoping Santa brings this holiday season? Share in the comments!

November 28, 2017

All I Want for Christmas 2017 Is... (2)


For any new followers to my blog, this holiday feature is when I share the books that have made it onto my Christmas wishlist.  I'll probably share one or two a week until Christmas. Feel free to link up your own book picks in the comments!

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase

23337562

This is one of those dual timeline books (a la Kate Morton), full of "family secrets, forbidden love, and heartbreaking loss" all with a Gothic sort of vibe. I am here for that. (I'm also here for any announcement from Kate Morton about her latest upcoming novel...? *looks around hopefully*)

What books are you hoping to find under the tree? Share in the comments!

November 18, 2017

All I Want for Christmas 2017 Is... (1)


I can't believe it's already time again for this holiday feature! For any new followers to my blog, this is when I share the books that have made it onto my Christmas wishlist.  I'll probably share one or two a week until Christmas. Feel free to link up your own book picks in the comments!

Illusion by Paula Volsky

467457

I'm kicking it off this year with an obscure, out-of-print pick (which I'm kind of doubting I'll get, but here's hoping!). I'm pretty sure it was Angieville's Retro Friday review that first put it on my TBR. Apparently it's reminiscent of the French Revolution era, but as it's a fantasy, magic mingles with the class warfare. I'm always a sucker for a story about revolution and class conflicts, but add magic, and I'm doubly interested. The only problem is how to get my hands on this book!

What books are on your Christmas wishlist? Are you hoping for any older/out-of-print books? Share in the comments!


November 15, 2017

Short & Sweet: The Hating Game (Adult)

31395274The Hating Game by Sally Thorne 

Utterly captivating and addictive, with a wonderful blend of humour, warmth, and unresolved sexual tension. I basically couldn't put it down. Really enjoyed the main character and her quirky, rather neurotic take on life. My one reservation is that sometimes the love interest gets overly jealous/possessive/moody and raised a couple red flags for me.

Would recommend this for fans of Meg Cabot's and Sophie Kinsella's chick-lit books, and I'll definitely be on the look-out for what Sally Thorne comes up with next.
 




 
Related Posts with Thumbnails